Future Islands – Tomorrow

Here’s the all new Future Islands. This post punk band I totally fell in love with last year while watching “How To Make It in America”. This time they deliver a truly remarkable piece of music : “Tomorrow“.

‘Tomorrow’ is a soulful swoon, its light tread is mesmerising amongst the slow burning synth cycles and relaxed bass progress. Samuel T. Herring’s ever-impressive vocal has never sounded more akin to Sam Cooke as he smoothly laments “I’m saying sorry every time we talk” before careening into a flight of sustained, arguably uncontrollable emotion. Some choice, additional vocals from Jenn Wasner (of Wye Oak), Lexie Mountain and Elena Johnston only make the song seem more impassioned; its ardent nature perfectly rendered into melody.

It’s unmistakably Future Islands, with a raw and rather rough verse at 1:40 mark. We love it madly, you will too. Spin for yourselves. The track “Tomorrow” will be released via Upset The Rhythm on 7″ along with “The Fountain” on heavyweight white vinyl and pressed to 1000 records worldwide ONLY. Raaaadnessss.


1 Comment

Leave a comment