Dark Light

Recorded over the weekend on a four-track and shared just 7 hours ago via Shamir‘s own Soundcloud channel for free. We went ahead and downloaded the entire album to share it with you before it gets dumped into oblivion by the record label reps. The entire album, called ‘Hope’, comes at a time when Shamir was “thinking of quitting music” as he explains in the liner note:

I was gonna quit music this weekend. From day 1 it was clear i was an accidental pop star. I loved the idea of it, i mean who doesn’t? Still the wear of staying polished with how im presented and how my music was presented took a huge toll on me mentally. I started to hate music, the thing i loved the most! When i would listen to immaculate recordings with my friends their praise over the quality of the art as opposed to the art itself made me feel really sad for music as a medium in general. My music only feels exciting for me if its in the moment, and thats what this album is. I made this album this past weekend stuck in my room with just a 4 track feeling hopeless about my love for music. Im not gonna lie, this album is hard to listen to, but it was even harder for me to share. I love pop music, i love outsider music, and i love lofi music, this is my way of combining all 3. Anyway I played, wrote, produced, and mixed everything and big thanks to Kieran Ferris for Mastering an album with an hours notice! its free! Enjoy! Love Yall! Still more 2 come!!!!!!!

Note: All the tracks were encoded in mono, at the dismal 56kbps bitrate hence the sound quality not being up to today’s standards. This was probably intentional on Shamir’s part. Maybe he’s planning on releasing this album in better quality at a later stage. Who knows. In the meantime, enjoy this free download (right-click, save target as on each track above).

[separator type=”thick”]


  1. Hope
  2. What Else
  3. Ignore Everything
  4. Tom Kelly
  5. Easier
  6. Like A Bird
  7. One More Time Won’t Kill You
  8. I Fucking Hate You
  9. Rain (Blake Babies Cover)
  10. Bleed It Out
[separator type=”thick”]

[separator type=”thick”]

Follow Shamir on :  Facebook  | Soundcloud | Twitter | www

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts

Introducing: Weirdo

Nothing on this new act called Weirdo. We think it’s a side project of ‘some’ London artist, however we could…